Organisation profile

Organisation profile

The Faculty of Science is located on the Carlow campus. It has three distinct departments, namely the Department of Computing, the Department of Applied Sciences and the Department of Health and Sport Sciences. The Faculty is home to three research centres: compuCORE (Centre of Research and Enterprise in Interactive Applications Software and Networks), enviroCORE (Centre of Research and Enterprise in BioEnvironmental Technologies) and healthCORE (Centre of Research and Enterprise for Men’s Health, Athletic Therapy and Sport and Exercise Sciences). These are the 3 pillars in healthCORE

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. Our work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 2 - Zero Hunger
  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being
  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 12 - Responsible Consumption and Production
  • SDG 14 - Life Below Water


Dive into the research topics where Faculty of Science is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or